Skip to content

Video Series

Mercury Soul: Cathedral Episode 1

Play Video
Release Date: August 15th, 2020
Featuring: , , , ,

The journey begins with diverse perspectives on mystical music from across the globe.  Claude Debussy’s “Sunken Cathedral” is performed in the vast beauty of St. Joseph’s Cathedral, animated by legendary designer architect Ken Fulks, followed by the traditional Indian “Bho Shambho” on mridangam and flute.  Icelandic visionary Johann Johannsson’s “Sálfræðingur” and Mason Bates’ “Tectonic Plates” integrate strings and beats in meditative ways.


Debussy – Sunken Cathedral (Elyse Weakley, piano)

Indian traditional – Bho Shambho (Arun Saigal, mridangam & Vineet Gopal, flute)  

Johannsson – Sálfræðingur (Eclecta String Quartet)

Bates – Tectonic Plates (Shaina Evoniuk, violin & DJ Masonic)

Mercury Soul: Cathedral is a 4-part miniseries of meditative music and electronica that showcases a vibrant new way of presenting live music digitally. Filmed in the sumptuous Saint Joseph’s Arts Society in San Francisco, the series features the seamless alternation between classical music and DJing for which Mercury Soul has become known.

More Episodes

Mercury Soul: Cathedral Episode 2

Release Date: August 21st, 2020

Mercury Soul: Cathedral Episode 3

Release Date: August 29th, 2020

Mercury Soul: Cathedral Episode 4

Release Date: September 5th, 2020